Blog ~ News


Xuefei Yang and GuitaRIAM - February 2019
February 17th, 2019 3:49 pm     A+ | a-

Xuefei Yang and GuitaRIAM
I had the privilege and honour of taking part in a concert with Xuefei Yang on Sunday, 17th February 2019, in the Freemasons' Hall, Molesworth Street, Dublin. This concert was presented in partnership with the Dublin Chinese New Year Festival.

The programme (listed below) consisted of Gerald Garcia’s Concerto China Sings for Solo Guitar and Guitar Orchestra and was definitely one of the highlights for me in the entire concert.

With the vibrant 20-strong GuitaRIAM ensemble, under the direction of Marion Hyland we played to a full house. This too, could have been doubled if there had there been enough space such was the demand for tickets!

Having not personally performed in public for over 22 years, it was a welcome return to the stage and to be surrounded with such a high class musicians made the event one to remember.

Steve Reich: Electric Counterpoint Barbara Devlin, solo guitar
Santiago Gomez Kodela: Of Colours
Andrew York: Quiccan
Manuel da Falla: La Vida Breve, The Miller’s Dance & The Ritual Fire Dance
Turlough O' Carolan arr. Barbara Devlin & Katie Neville: Planxty George Brabazon, Eleanor Plunkett & Carolan’s Concerto

Shuhua Lua arr. Xuefei Yang: Fisherman Song at Eventide
Changjun Xu arr. Xuefei Yang: Sword Dance
Xuefei Yang, solo guitar

Gerald Garcia: Concerto China Sings for Solo Guitar and Guitar Orchestra
Xuefei Yang, guitar

Xuefei Yang
Widely-recognised as one of the world’s greatest advocates of her instrument, Xuefei Yang’s own path to international success is an inspirational one. Born following the Cultural Revolution, she was the first guitarist in China to enter a music school and the first to launch an international performing career. Her international success has led her to be invited to play in more than 50 countries at numerous prestigious venues, and she is frequently invited to play with the world’s leading orchestras and collaborate with such distinguished artists as Ian Bostridge, Rosalind Plowright and Sir James Galway.

Barbara Devlin
Katie Neville
Karl Byrne
Ross Madden
Santiago Gomez Kodela
Colm Connolly
Angie O' Loughlin
Sinead Gaskin
John Caffrey
Aidan Seery
Nathan O' Maoilearca
Mat Quinn
Brian Farrell

No comments posted...
Leave a Comment
* Name
* Email (will not be published)
Mathematical catpcha image
* Enter verification code
* - Required fields
Older Post Home Newer Post